She has a way with money

Lucy was home from school today with a cold, so she and I played store. This is an especially fun activity since Jennifer got us some school, play money. (This also allows me to make Lucy do math, but don’t tell her that).

She started off with $157, and with that she bought several stuffed animals and a pair of shoes, all of which we had brought out to the “store” from her bedroom.

This left her with one last dollar. Then she asked what it would cost to buy one more stuffed animal. I told her that it would be $21. She slid her dollar over to me with a sheepish grin. But I decided this was time for one of life’s difficult lessons. So I said: “Sorry mam. But if you don’t have enough money, I can’t sell it to you.”

Lucy looked around perturbed. Then she picked up some napkins, a green marker, and announced to me: “I need to go to the restroom.” She opened an imaginary door, moved slightly to her left, and closed the door behind her. Then she sat down at a stool, and created for herself several more $10 bills.

I don’t want to encourage a life of crime for my daughter, but I did go ahead and sell her the stuffed animal.

Leave a Reply

