The Art of the Deal

At the park Kathleen was ready to leave, but the other kids were still playing. So I told her we would leave in 15 minutes. She counter offered 1 minute. I came down to 7 minutes. She came up to 5. I suggested that we split the difference at 6 minutes. She refused, insisting on 5 minutes. So I made her a deal. I agreed that in one minute I would accept her offer of 5 minutes. She counted to sixty and we struck the deal.

It took her till after we were back home to figure out my subterfuge. She is so angry that she is crying and insisting that her mother come up with a punishment for me.

I may have ruined Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

