A Fine Distinction

Tonight is Fairview Fever Festival, a fundraising party at Kathleen’s school. As I walked her in this morning we had this conversation:

Kathleen: “I don’t think I can wait until after school for the FESTIVAL!”

Me: “I think you have to hunny.”

Kathleen: “Why do they call it Fairview FEVER Festival? No one is sick.”

Me: “Well, sometimes, when people are excited, we say they have the fever. So maybe they call it that because you are so excited.”

Kathleen: “Well dad, they don’t know that I am excited. Maybe you meant ‘they call it that because EVERYBODY is excited.'”

Lessons: (1) Kathleen is just like me. (2) I must be a little hard to live with.

Leave a Reply

