Exuberance

Tonight at the pivotal moment in the cartoon she was watching, Kathleen (my 5 year old daughter) jumped up and down in front of the couch with her arms shaking flagrantly at her sides. I could easily recognize this action from my own childhood. At times, I think my parents worried about whether this apparent lack of bodily control was a developmental problem. It wasn’t. What it was, was a kind of release of pure energy when the the story was about to come together, when the good guy was about to win, when, despite troubles, things were about to make sense in the world again (at least the world of whatever show I was watching). For just a moment tonight, seeing my daughter participate in that energy, I remembered what that felt like. I have, of course, overcome such exuberance in my adulthood. It is good occasionally to be reminded what I lost in the exchange.

Leave a Reply

